TAMPA, FL (Tampa Bay Lightning Communications) – The Tampa Bay Lightning will issue qualifying offers to three players vice president and general manager Steve Yzerman announced today.  There were three players that did not receive offers from the team, making them unrestricted free agents on July 5.  

Below is a list of players receiving qualifying offers:

Pos.           Player             

D                Mark Barberio

RW             J.T. Brown

RW             Dan Sexton


The deadline for NHL clubs to issue offers is Tuesday.  By issuing qualifying offers to the aforementioned players, the Lightning are given the right of the first refusal or draft choice compensation should the player sign an offer sheet with another NHL club.  

Players who will not receive qualifying offers are left wing Alex Hutchings, defenseman Brendan Mikkelson and left wing Benoit Pouliot.