The Lightning announced their final cutdowns prior to the regular season's start, reducing the roster by 10 players on Sunday.

Among the more notable names are forwards Brett Connolly and Dana Tyrell. Both were assigned to Syracuse of the AHL as were Mike Angelidis, J.T. Brown, J.P. Cote, Dmitry Korobov, Mikita Kucherov and Matt Taormina.

In addition Jonathan Drouin was assigned to Halifax of the Quebec junior league and Kristers Gudlevskis goes to the Florida Everblades (ECHL).

The team is keeping 13 forwards: B.J. Crombeen, Valtteri Filppula, Tyler Johnson, Alex Killorn, Pierre-Cedric Labrie, Ryan Malone, Ondrej Palat, Richard Panik, Teddy Purcell, Tom Pyatt, Martin St. Louis, Steven Stamkos and Nate Thompson.

The 10 defensemen are Keith Aulie, Mark Barberio, Eric Brewer, Matt Carle, Radko Gudas, Victor Hedman, Brian Lee, Mattias Ohlund, Sami Salo and Andrej Sustr.

Ben Bishop and Anders Lindback are the goaltenders.

Tampa Bay starts its regular season Thursday at Boston.