TAMPA, Fla. (AP) — No. 14 LSU has been selected to face Iowa in the Outback Bowl on New Year's Day.

The Tigers (9-4) are making their first trip to Tampa for postseason action since 1989, when the game called the Hall of Fame Bowl.

Iowa (8-4) will be making its fourth appearance in the Outback. The Hawkeyes last appeared following the 2008 season, when they beat South Carolina 31-10.

The Hawkeyes beat Florida 37-17 to conclude the 2003 season in Tampa. They lost to the Gators 31-24 in the game winding up the 2005 season.

LSU coach Les Miles says the annual matchup between representatives from the Southeastern Conference and Big Ten a "premier" game. Iowa coach Kirk Ferentz says his team is excited to be playing a team the caliber of LSU.