WASHINGTON (AP) — New Orleans and Indianapolis, the sites of the past two Super Bowls, and Minneapolis are the three finalists to host the NFL championship game in 2018.

Those three cities have been selected from a pool of six at the owners' meetings Tuesday.

Colts owner Jim Irsay says: "It proves that Indianapolis is really a unique city, being a medium-sized market in a colder market, without 80 degrees and beaches."

Owners say that the subject of changing the Washington Redskins' nickname was not discussed in any formal way during Tuesday's sessions.

Among the decisions made: There will be three games played at London's Wembley Stadium next season. The Falcons, Jaguars and Raiders will be the "home" teams. Dates and opponents will be announced later.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers COO Brian Ford issued a statement after the news was released that Tampa Bay once again fell short in the running.

"The Tampa Bay area has a long and rich history as a Super Bowl host and we look forward to working closely with the Tampa Sports Commission as well as local leaders to prepare for the next opportunity."

The last Super Bowl hosted at Raymond James Stadium was Super Bowl XLIII in 2009.