(via Florida State University Communications) - Redshirt sophomore quarterback Deondre Francois is among 30 quarterbacks named to the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award watch list, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced Wednesday morning.

Francois was previously named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, given to the nation’s top player. The Orlando native is the reigning Atlantic Coast Conference Rookie of the Year, Offensive Rookie of the Year and was a four-time Rookie of the Week after throwing for 3,350 yards and 20 touchdowns as a redshirt freshman in 2016. Francois led all freshmen nationally in passing yards, with 419 coming in his first career game against No. 11 Ole Miss in the season opener.

Francois capped his freshman season with a pair of passing touchdowns and a rushing score in FSU’s 33-32 win over No. 6 Michigan in the Orange Bowl, including the game-winning 12-yard touchdown to Nyqwan Murray with 36 seconds remaining.

Three finalists for the O’Brien Award will be announced on November 20, and the award will be handed out live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on December 7.

The 41st Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held February 19, 2018, in Fort Worth, Texas.

Francois is looking to become the fourth Seminole to win the O’Brien Award, joining Charlie Ward (1993), Chris Weinke (2000) and Jameis Winston (2013). All three previous O’Brien Award winners from Florida State also won the Heisman Trophy that same season.

Happy Sunday! 😄

A post shared by FSU Football (@fsufootball) on