BY: John Mamola

The Pro Football Hall Of Fame welcomed in another Tampa Bay Buccaneer with the induction of Buccaneers’ great Derrick Brooks on Saturday night at Fawcett Stadium in Canton, Ohio.  Brooks was one of seven candidates elected to this year’s class out of a process that began in September of last year which started with 126 eligible candidates.

Brooks became just the third Bucs player to receive pro football's highest honor, joining Lee Roy Selmon (1995) and defensive end Warren Sapp, who were elected in their first year of eligibility.

Brooks was selected by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the first round (28th overall) of the 1995 National Football League draft.  The 11-time Pro Bowler earned First Team All-Pro honors six times and was named the AP NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2002, the same season he helped lead the team to a Super Bowl championship.

As a member of the All-Decade Team for the 2000s, Brooks has the honor of being one of only five players in NFL history to have won a Super Bowl, been named AP NFL Defensive Player of the Year and earn ten consecutive Pro Bowl appearances.  Brooks was also a recipient the 2000 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award.

He finished his professional career as the Buccaneers all-time tackler with 2,198 total tackles and made 10 straight Pro Bowl appearances.  Brooks played in every single game of his 14-year career with the Buccaneers, starting in 221-of-224 possible games.

Photo Courtesy Of Getty Images